Cubs Release Commemorative Logo to Celebrate 100 Years of Playing at Wrigley Field
The Chicago Cubs released Thursday the logo that will be used during the 2016 season to commemorate a century of the team playing at Wrigley Field. The logo, which features a version of the team’s 1916 logo in modern colors, will be showcased as a patch on the team’s home uniforms throughout the 2016 season.
Fans will be able to purchase officially licensed memorabilia with the logo beginning this off-season.
The Chicago Cubs franchise – originally chartered as the Chicago White Stockings, then called the Colts and Orphans before officially adopting the Cubs moniker in 1907 – played in five different ballparks between 1876 through 1915 before moving in 1916 to the team’s current home at the corner of Clark and Addison streets.
Originally named Weeghman Park after Chicago Federals owner Charles Weeghman, the ballpark was first home to the Chi-Feds (later the Chicago Whales) of the Federal League. The park hosted its first game April 23, 1914, with the Chi-Feds defeating the Kansas City Packers 9-1, and hosted the Federal League-champion Chicago Whales in 1915.
After the Federal League folded in December of 1915, Weeghman assembled a group of ten investors including William Wrigley Jr. to purchase the Chicago Cubs and move them to Weeghman Park for the 1916 season.
By 1919, Wrigley Jr. gained controlling interest in the club and the park was renamed Cubs Park – eventually becoming Wrigley Field in 1926. The team celebrated 100 Years of Wrigley Field with a yearlong campaign during the 2014 season.
Additional plans to celebrate a Century of the Cubs at Wrigley Field will be released prior to the 2016 season.