Iowa Cubs Release Opening Day Roster

The Iowa Cubs released their Opening Day roster following Wednesday’s on field workout. The I-Cubs open the 2014 season on Thursday night against the Memphis Redbirds (St. Louis Cardinals) at Principal Park.

I-Cubs’ skipper Marty Pevey announced Wednesday that Chris Rusin would get the ball on Opening Day.

PrintIowa will garner a lot of attention this season, especially early in the year. Iowa’s infield will feature Javier Baez, Arismendy Alcantara and Christian Villanueva. Jason McLeod recently said Baez will spend a majority of his time at shortstop but will see time at second base. The Cubs plan on Baez gaining experience on the other side of the bag, plus the front office wants Alcantara to play shortstop, as well as second base.

Brett Jackson and Josh Vitters will try to get their careers back on track patrolling the outfield in Iowa along with speedster Matt Szczur and veteran Chris Coghlan.

The I-Cubs starting staff should be better than a year ago. Carlos Pimentel, Kyle Hendricks, Eric Jokisch and Tsuyoshi Wada follow Rusin in the rotation.

Neil Ramirez, Blake Parker and Marcus Mateo will pitch in the backend of the I-Cubs’ pen, along with Marcus Hatley and lefty Jonathan Sanchez.

Iowa has 26 players on the team’s first roster and one already on the disabled list. The Iowa Cubs can have a 38-man reserve roster and a 24-man active roster.

2014 Iowa Cubs Opening Day Roster

  • Manager – Marty Pevey
  • Hitting Coach – Brian Harper
  • Pitching Coach – Bruce Walton 
  • Chris Rusin, LHP
  • Kyle Hendricks, RHP
  • Eric Jokisch, LHP
  • Carlos Pimentel, RHP
  • Tsuyoshi Wada, LHP
  • Blake Parker, RHP
  • Neil Ramirez, RHP
  • Zac Rosscup, LHP
  • Casey Coleman, RHP
  • Marcus Hatley, RHP
  • Marcos Mateo, RHP
  • Jonathan Sanchez, LHP
  • Yoanner Negrin, RHP
  • Eli Whiteside
  • Luis Flores
  • Arismendy Alcantara
  • Javier Baez
  • Christian Villanueva
  • Lars Anderson
  • Logan Watkins
  • Edgar Gonzalez
  • Chris Valaika
  • Brett Jackson
  • Josh Vitters
  • Matt Szczur
  • Chris Coghlan

Edgar Gonzalez is starting the season on the disabled list.

Dallas Beeler was assigned to Triple-A Iowa during Spring Training and his status is unknown at this point. Veterans Casper Wells and Tommy Hottovy were also assigned to Triple-A Iowa after being in big league camp on minor league contracts. Wells, Hottovy and the injured Mitch Maier are not on the I-Cubs first roster of the season.

Follow ChicagoCubsOnline on Twitter: @TheCCO and @TheCCO_Minors

Quote of the Day

"Logic will get you from A to B. Imagination will take you everywhere." - Albert Einstein