Kane County Cougars Release Tentative Opening Day Roster

The Kane County Cougars, the Low-A affiliate of the Chicago Cubs, open their 2014 season on Thursday night at Quad Cities. The Cougars released their tentative Opening Day roster on Monday afternoon.

Several of the top prospects in the system will be part of Kane County’s first roster. Jacob Hannemann, Shawon Dunston Jr., Danny Lockhart and Trey Martin are four of the more well-known position players along with catchers Cael Brockmeyer and Will Remillard.

PrintPaul Blackburn, James Pugliese, Jen-Ho Tseng, Scott Frazier, Tyler Skulina, Juan Carlos Paniagua and Daury Torrez highlight what could be a very good pitching staff.

The Cougars’ roster features 26 players, 13 position players and 13 pitchers, and will have to be reduced to 25 players by Opening Day. Kane County, like Daytona, can carry 35 players on their reserve roster and 25 players on their active roster. Kane County cannot have more than two players with more than five years of minor league service time on the roster.

2014 Kane County Cougars Opening Day Roster

  • Manager – Mark Johnson
  • Hitting Coach – David Rosario
  • Pitching Coach – Tom Beyers 
  • Justin Amlung, RHP
  • Jose Arias, RHP
  • Paul Blackburn, RHP
  • Tyler Bremer, RHP
  • Gerardo Concepcion, LHP
  • Nathan Dorris, LHP
  • Scott Frazier, RHP
  • Zach Godley, RHP
  • Juan Carlos Paniagua, RHP
  • James Pugliese, RHP
  • Tyler Skulina, RHP
  • Daury Torrez, RHP
  • Jen-Ho Tseng, RHP
  • Cael Brockmeyer
  • Ben Carhart
  • Will Remillard
  • David Bote
  • Danny Canela
  • Jordan Hankins
  • Danny Lockhart
  • Carlos Penalver
  • Jacob Rogers
  • Yasiel Balaguert
  • Shawon Dunston Jr.
  • Jacob Hannemann
  • Trey Martin

Release from Kane County Cougars

Follow ChicagoCubsOnline on Twitter: @TheCCO and @TheCCO_Minors

Quote of the Day

"Build up your weaknesses until they become your strong points." – Knute Rockne