The Daytona Cubs Named Baseball America’s Minor League Team of the Year

The Cubs’ farm system received another accolade on Wednesday morning when Baseball America named the 2013 Daytona Cubs their minor league team of the year.

The D-Cubs won the Florida State League Championship and along the way the team posted two no-hitters and Javier Baez hit four home runs in a single game on a team that had “the most prospects in the franchise’s 20 years as a Cubs affiliate.

Dave Keller told Baseball America he saw things with this past season he had not seen in 31 years.

Matt Loosen tossed the D-Cubs first nine-inning no hitter in 19 seasons. Javier Baez launched four home runs on June 10 and three D-Cubs’ hurlers (Ben Wells, Kyler Burke and Zach Cates) combined on a seven-inning no-hitter in a game that took six days to complete. The ‘Big Four’ of Pierce Johnson, C.J. Edwards, Ivan Pineyro and Corey Black also combined to throw 33 innings of scoreless ball in the playoffs.

The team dealt with constant weather delays and postponements throughout the season. And still found a way to post a 40-20 record in the second half and in the postseason.

The D-Cubs roster last season at different points during the season featured such prospects as Javier Baez, Jorge Soler, Dustin Geiger, Pierce Johnson, Ben Wells, C.J. Edwards, Ivan Pineyro, Corey Black, Zach Cates, Matt Loosen, Kris Bryant and Dan Vogelbach.

Complete Report from Baseball America

Follow ChicagoCubsOnline on Twitter: @TheCCO and @TheCCO_Minors

[amazonjs asin=”B00FIYP8GE” locale=”US” tmpl=”Small” title=”Daytona Cubs Authentic Road Fitted Cap”]

Quote of the Day

"When you play, play hard; when you work, don’t play at all." – Theodore Roosevelt