Daytona Cubs Release Tentative 2013 Opening Day Roster

The Daytona Cubs released a tentative 2013 Opening Day roster on Monday afternoon. The D-Cubs open the season on Thursday night, April 4 at Jackie Robinson Ballpark against the Brevard County Manatees.

Dave Keller will call the shots for the D-Cubs, his first managerial assignment in the Cubs’ organization. Storm Davis (pitching coach), Mariano Duncan (hitting coach) and Pete Fagan (trainer) round out Keller’s staff.

The D-Cubs’ roster is highlighted by two of the top prospects in the Cubs’ system … Javier Baez and Jorge Soler. Tim Saunders and Stephen Bruno will help round out the infield while Austin Kirk, Austin Reed, Ben Wells and Starling Peralta will be on the D-Cubs’ Opening Day pitching staff. The D-Cubs first roster of the season consists of 13 pitchers (three LHP, 10 RHP), three catchers, six infielders and three outfielders. The active roster limit for Single-A teams is 25 players, with a 35-player reserve roster limit.

High-A Daytona Cubs 2013 Opening Day Roster

(Tentative Roster – Subject to Change)


  • Yeiper Castillo, RHP
  • Zach Cates, RHP
  • Frank Del Valle, LHP
  • Eduardo Figueroa, RHP
  • P.J. Francescon, RHP
  • Austin Kirk, LHP
  • Luis Liria, RHP
  • Sheldon McDonald, LHP
  • Starling Peralta, RHP
  • Austin Reed, RHP
  • Ryan Searle, RHP
  • Yao-Lin Wang, RHP
  • Ben Wells, RHP


  • Taylor Davis
  • Micah Gibbs
  • Chad Noble


  • Javier Baez
  • Stephen Bruno
  • Ben Carhart
  • Zeke DeVoss
  • Dustin Geiger
  • Tim Saunders


  • John Andreoli
  • Taiwan Easterling
  • Jorge Soler

Follow ChicagoCubsOnline on Twitter: @TheCCO and @TheCCO_Minors

Quote of the Day

"There are places I remember. All my life though some have changed. Some forever not for better. Some have gone and some remain. All these places have their moments ... " John Lennon/Paul McCartney