Cubs Avoid Arbitration with Five of Eight Eligible Players

The Cubs signed five of their eight arbitration eligible players on Tuesday.

Jeff Baker, Mike Fontenot, Angel Guzman, Tom Gorzelanny and Koyie Hill all agreed to one-year contracts. Ryan Theriot, Carlos Marmol and Sean Marshall did not avoid arbitration by Tuesday’s deadline. All three players filed for salary arbitration.

Updated – 4:39pm CST – With Arbitration Figures for Ryan Theriot, Sean Marshall and Carlos Marmol

Mike Fontenot will earn $1 million in 2010 the highest of the five. Angel Guzman ($825,000), Jeff Baker ($975,000), Koyie Hill ($700,000) and Tom Gorzelanny ($800,000) all received nice raises.

Sean Marshall, Ryan Theriot and Carlos Marmol will go to arbitration but can sign before the hearings. Arbitration hearings are scheduled from February 1 – February 21.

Speculation is Carlos Marmol and Ryan Theriot could each make as much as $3 million in their first year of arbitration eligibility.

The Cubs have not gone to an arbitration hearing since 1993, Mark Grace. Jim Hendry avoided the ordeal with Carlos Zambrano a few years back as the two sides agreed to a one-year deal before entering the room.

Update – 4:39pm CST – Here are the arbitration figures according to Carrie Muskat on Twitter:

  • Carlos Marmol – $2.5 million – Cubs offered $1.75 million
  • Sean Marshall – $1.175 million – Cubs offered $800,000
  • Ryan Theriot – $3.4 million – Cubs offered – $2.6 million

Quote of the Day

"Build up your weaknesses until they become your strong points." – Knute Rockne