Soto Named National League Rookie of the Year

According to several reports, Cubs’ catcher Geovany Soto was named the NL Rookie of the Year on Monday becoming the organization’s first rookie of the year since Kerry Wood in 1998. Soto received 31 of 32 first place votes…. Joey Votto of the Cincinnati Reds received the other first place vote.

Geovany Soto became the first rookie catcher to start for the National League in the All-Star game and became the first catcher to win the Rookie of the Year award and lead his team to the playoffs in the same season. Mike Piazza was the last catcher to win the award, 15 years ago for the Los Angeles Dodgers.

Soto becomes the fifth rookie of the year winner for the organization. Kerry Wood (1998), Jerome Walton (1989), Ken Hubbs (1962) and Billy Williams (1961) were the other recipients.

Evan Langoria of the Tamp Bay Rays was named the American League Rookie of the Year.

Quote of the Day

"Build up your weaknesses until they become your strong points." – Knute Rockne