NLDS Roster Announced

Lou Piniella and Jim Hendry announced the Cubs’ NLDS Roster on Tuesday night. According to a report by Paul Sullivan in the Chicago Tribune and reports on ESPN 1000, Lou Piniella is going with a 3-man rotation in the first series. Carlos Zambrano will pitch Game One, followed by Ted Lilly in Game Two. Rich Hill will go in Game Three with Zambrano to make the start on short rest in Game Four if necessary. Ted Lilly would start Game Five on regular rest, if needed. Piniella also stated Geovany Soto will start on Wednesday. Here is the rest of the roster that includes Kevin Hart, Jason Marquis and Felix Pie….

The Cubs announced Jason Marquis will be the long man out of the bullpen. Sean Marshall, Will Ohman and Craig Monroe were left of the first round roster. Marshall could be used in the next round but Steve Trachsel, according to Paul Sullivan, “will not be given another opportunity to pitch for the Cubs.

The 25-man Roster

Starting Pitchers

  • Carlos Zambrano
  • Ted Lilly
  • Rich Hill

Relief Pitchers

  • Ryan Dempster
  • Bobby Howry
  • Carlos Marmol
  • Michael Wuertz
  • Kevin Hart
  • Scott Eyre
  • Kerry Wood
  • Jason Marquis


  • Derrek Lee
  • Mark DeRosa
  • Ryan Theriot
  • Aramis Ramirez
  • Mike Fontenot
  • Ronny Cedeno


  • Alfonso Soriano
  • Jacque Jones
  • Cliff Floyd
  • Daryle Ward
  • Matt Murton
  • Felix Pie


  • Jason Kendall
  • Geovany Soto

The report in the Tribune mentions Sean Marshall will go to Mesa in the event the Cubs make it to the next round. Hendry said Marshall could play a role in the playoffs if they advance.

Quote of the Day

"Build up your weaknesses until they become your strong points." – Knute Rockne