The Second Round of Cuts

The Cubs announced the second round of cuts on Tuesday afternoon. Geovany Soto was optioned to Triple-A Iowa and Ryan O’Malley, Carmen Pignatiello, Jake Fox, Micah Hoffpauir and Casey McGehee were reassigned to minor league camp. The Cubs’ spring roster now stands at 38.

Updated – 9:38pm C.T.

The Cubs still have 3 non-roster invitees on the major league roster. The Cubs currently have 20 pitchers, 3 catchers, 8 infielders and 7 outfielders remaining in camp.

The Spring Roster stands as follows (3/20/07):


  • Rocky Cherry
  • Neal Cotts
  • Ryan Dempster
  • Scott Eyre
  • Angel Guzman
  • Rich Hill
  • Bobby Howry
  • Ted Lilly
  • Carlos Marmol
  • Jason Marquis
  • Sean Marshall
  • Juan Mateo
  • Wade Miller
  • Roberto Novoa
  • Will Ohman
  • Mark Prior
  • Les Walrond *
  • Michael Wuertz
  • Kerry Wood
  • Carlos Zambrano


  • Michael Barrett
  • Henry Blanco
  • Koyie Hill *


  • Ronny Cedeno
  • Mark DeRosa
  • Cesar Izturis
  • Derrek Lee
  • Tomas Perez *
  • Aramis Ramirez
  • Ryan Theriot
  • Daryle Ward


  • Buck Coats
  • Cliff Floyd
  • Jacque Jones
  • Matt Murton
  • Angel Pagan
  • Felix Pie
  • Alfonso Soriano

* Non-Roster Invitee

Two more spots should be created when the Cubs put Mark Prior and Kerry Wood on the DL to start the season. If Prior does remain in Mesa for extended Spring Training it will be his 4 season in a row he has started the year on the DL. Mark Prior and Kerry Wood are sheduled to throw on Thursday against Greg Maddux and the Padres in Peoria.

Quote of the Day

"When you play, play hard; when you work, don’t play at all." – Theodore Roosevelt